Net 0


LEED is a nationally respected organization that certifies the design, operation and construction of high performance green buildings. To become LEED certified Spartan will guide our clients via the third-party commissioning process developed and administered by the U.S Green Building Council (USGBC).

There are four certification levels within the LEED rating system – Certified, Silver, Gold, and Platinum. These LEED categories correspond to the number of credits accrued in five green design categories:

  • sustainable sites
  • water efficiency
  • energy and atmosphere
  • indoor environmental quality

Getting one of these LEED certifications allows you to take advantage of a growing number of state and local government incentives and tax benefits with credits that offset the  costs  to add premium home systems.   Because you can attain LEED certification through a variety of green strategies, only one of which is energy efficiency, a LEED certified home or building may not necessarily be highly energy efficient. That is why it is important that any LEED certified home also become a Zero Net Energy Home. Unlike LEED certified homes and buildings, Zero Net Energy Homes and buildings are highly energy efficient and use solar collectors to produce as much energy as they consume. Unlike LEED certified homes, Zero Net Energy Homes have zero carbon emissions and zero energy bills.

Spartan Buildings make building owners many optional choices to attain the best technology for building Zero Net Energy Homes that are also LEED certified – usually with a LEED Platinum certification. That approach is the best of both worlds: no energy bills, no carbon emissions and all the other environmental benefits of LEED Platinum certification.